Home Page



By the end of their time at primary school, all pupils should be able to read fluently, and with confidence. The teaching of reading is split into two sections – decoding and comprehension. Decoding covers the technical aspects of reading: using phonic sound to blend an unfamiliar word, using root words and prefixes to support this and drawing on previously known words. Comprehension is focussed on class sessions and covers discussions about the book, showing an understanding of what has read. Both skills are essential for developing lifelong successful readers. In all areas of school, high quality texts are chosen and each class has daily story time where stories are enjoyed and discussed.


Foundation Stage

In all EYFS classes, the pupils have daily story time, where stories are enjoyed and discussed.

On entry to Foundation Stage 2 the pupils are assessed in RWI phonic sounds. These assessments are used to inform the teacher’s planning.

Autumn Term – The pupils stay in class groups. All Set 1 Sounds are taught, with green words.

Spring/Summer Term – The pupils will be re-assessed and will form 3-4 groups across the phase. The Reading Teacher will teach Speed Sound lessons as well as following the correct reading lesson and format for their group, (i.e ditty, red group) this will be found in the Teacher Handbooks.

Summer Term – several pupils in Nursery may be ready to learn Set 1 Sounds. The teacher will decide on the pupils and incorporates these in their phonics lessons.


Year 1

On entry to Year 1, the pupils complete a RWI assessment. The children have 4, Phonics Sessions followed by 15 minutes of reading a RWI book aimed at their level.

Regular assessments are carried out to inform the groupings, to ensure differentiation and challenge.


Years 2 and 3

Once the children have passed the Phonics Screener, they work on the comprehension of texts and building up fluency, in their reading lessons This is achieved by using the RWI approach to reading of scaffolding ‘key words’ as a preparation for reading. They are then given a text from the age-appropriate Nelson Comprehension book.

Children are taught how to find literal answers in the text and are encouraged to write answers down.


Year 4, 5 and 6

The majority of children in these years are taught through the Comprehension Express scheme, at the age appropriate level. During class guided reading sessions, children are taught about what a good reader looks like and how they think. Comprehension Express teaches the pupils the processes they are going through when they are trying to understand an unfamiliar text.

Lessons are based around a variety of text types and a wide range of activities are planned within the scheme to support the skills taught and the understanding of the text.


Reading at Home

At St Andrew’s C of E Primary, we encourage children to read at home 5 times a week. We call this Fab



In Foundation Stage the children will bring home words, based on the sounds they are reading and will move onto books as the year progresses.


Children in Year 1 are given books based on the sounds they know.


From Year 2, children are allocated an Accelerated Reader book, which a based on an assessment their teacher has carried out.


You Can Read to Me or Free Choice Books

There are a variety of books for the pupils to ‘choose’ to read. These may not be aimed at the Ha level but offer a wider scope for enjoyment and sharing books with others.