Home Page


Child Protection and Safeguarding Policy

Safeguarding at St Andrew's:

Safeguarding concerns are a priority matter within school and all staff have received appropriate Safeguarding training.

Designated persons for safeguarding are:

  • Ian Snelling (Head Teacher)

There are three Governors with overall responsibility for safeguarding issues, such as safer recruitment. They also ensure the school carries out its safeguarding duties:

  • Pam Clarke (Chair of Support and Pastoral Committee)
  • Miles Newey (Chair of Governors)
  • Claire Frow

If a parent/carer has a safeguarding concern, including PREVENT concerns, they should contact one of the designated persons as listed above.

PREVENT Statement

St Andrew’s C of E Primary School is fully committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of all its pupils. As a school we recognise that safeguarding against radicalisation is no different from safeguarding against any other vulnerability. All staff have completed their PREVENT training.

All staff and visitors are expected to uphold and promote the fundamental principles of British values, including democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and mutual respect, and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs. In formulating this statement the school have taken account of the guidance from the Department for Education (DfE) who have called for all public bodies to make explicit their preventative measures to minimise the threat of extremism in their setting.

PREVENT Responsibilities

Safeguarding lead:

  • Ian Snelling (Head Teacher)

Governor lead:

  • Pam Clarke
  • Claire Frow

Curriculum lead:

  • Ian Snelling and Emma Westby (PSHE Lead)

Checking visitors to the school:

  • Julia Benford (Business Manager)

Responsibility for ensuring commissioned services are complying with the Prevent Duty:

  • Ian Snelling (Head Teacher)

Responsibility for record keeping to demonstrate compliance with the Prevent Duty:

  • Ian Snelling (Head Teacher)